Toronto, ON – March 12, 2020 –Snotty Nose Rez Kids released their latest single today – Cops With Guns Are The Worst!!! – in support of the Wet’suwet’en pipeline protests, currently taking place across Canada. Listen to the track here.

Cops With Guns Are The Worst!!! is featured on the group’s upcoming new EP, Born Deadly, set to arrive on April 3rd, hot on the heels of Real Deadly, whose video premiered last month via Complex. SNRK will head out on their first ever U.S. headlining tour, kicking off April 12th in Portland and wrapping June 13th in Detroit. See all tour dates below and purchase tickets here.

Cops With Guns Are The Worst!!! is in response to the current eviction notice that was served by the Unist’ot’en People to Coastal Gaslink in Northern British Columbia – Wet’suwet’en territory – and the protests that have accompanied the action. Coastal Gaslink have proposed a 670km fracking gas pipeline to run through the mountains from Dawson Creek to Kitimat, BC. The proposal does not have the support of First Nations leaders and communities because the lands of British Columbia are unceded, meaning Indigenous people never sold or transferred the land to the Canadian government.  The rightful land-owners should have control of what forms of industry happen on their lands, and as land protectors, Indigenous people are standing up to big business to protect the land and environment for future generations. 

Protests have swelled across Canada, and protesters have been met with injunctions, police brutality and heavy-handed tactics by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, yet the movement continues to grow. SNRK’s music, in particular anthemic songs like Skoden, KKKanada, Johnny’s Teeth, The Warriors, and The Resistance, have been at the centre of

movements, played at protests and incorporated into chants. SNRK wanted to offer a new song in response to the current anti-pipeline movement. Cops With Guns Are The Worst!!! highlights police brutality and the perseverance of Indigenous people in times of struggle.

Yung Trybez and Young D stated, “People close to us have been on the ground day-in and day-out putting their lives on the line to protect all our futures. We’re obviously frustrated by the lack of respect for Indigenous land rights and ownership but watching the RCPM arresting our people for defending their land and protecting their territory, we felt rage. There’s such a long history of RCMP inflicting violence on our people and that rage boiled over into this song. Cops With Guns Are The Worst!!! is a rager and for us this was the only way to tell that story.  We see the Indigenous youth leading the current blockades. They’re fighting not just for the future of tomorrow, but for the future of today. This song was made specifically for them.”

Snotty Nose Rez Kids is a Haisla hip-hop duo from Kitimat, BC composed of rappers Yung Trybez and Young D. Formed in 2016, SNRK released back-to-back albums in 2017: their self-titled debut in January and The Average Savage in September. The latter project earned the duo Best Hip-Hop Artist at the Western Canadian Music Awards, landed them on the 2018 Polaris Music Prize Short List, and earned them a 2019 JUNO Nomination for Best Indigenous Music Album. The group toured heavily in Canada with select appearances in the U.S. and Australia. They quickly gained notoriety for their energetic, inspiring, and thought-provoking shows.

In 2019, SNRK’s third album TRAPLINE garnered praise from Exclaim!, Bandcamp, CBC Music, Complex, Hype Magazine, Noisey, Okayplayer, and The Fader, amongst others.  The duo embarked on a 60+ show tour of Canada, U.S., Mexico, U.K., and Australia, where they received a groundswell of support. SNRK won Breakout Artist at the Western Canadian Music Awards and were once again shortlisted for the Polaris Music Prize, making them one of only three artists to ever make the Short List in back-to-back years. TRAPLINE wound up on numerous 2019 Best Album of the Year lists. Exclaim! included TRAPLINE on its lists for 50 Best Albums of the 2010s and Top 10 Hip-Hop Album of the Year, and singled out SNRK’s stand-out, Boujee Natives, in their list of Top 50 Songs of the 2010s. SNRK kick off their 2020 schedule with their first-ever headlining tour of the U.S., the Born Deadly Tour, in support of their upcoming EP of the same name.

04/12 – Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar
04/14 – San Francisco, CA @ Crystal Cavern
04/15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Moroccan Lounge
04/19 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
04/20 – Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge
04/23 – Houston, TX @ Green Room at Warehouse Live
04/24 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
04/25 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tigers
04/26 – Dallas, TX @ Ruins
04/28 – Albuquerque, NM @ Launchpad
04/29 – Denver, CO @ Moon Room
04/30 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Loading Dock
05/01 – Boise, ID @ Olympic
05/02 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
05/30 – Toronto, ON @ Echo Beach
06/02 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
06/04 – Boston, MA @ Once
06/05 – Philadelphia, PA @ Milkboy
06/06 – Washington DC @ Songbyrd
06/07 – Durham, NC @ Pinhook
06/08 – Atlanta, GA @ Purgatory at The Masquerade
06/11 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club
06/12 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s
06/13 – Detroit, MI @ Sanctuary
06/27 - Lake Cowichan, BC @ Laketown Ranch (Laketown Shakedown)
07/11 - Troms, NO @ Kafjord (Riddu Riddu Festival)

DOWNLOADpress photo | DOWNLOADEP cover artwork
DOWNLOADtour poster