TORONTO, ON – Thursday, July 11, 2019

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music, will reveal the 2019 Short List on Tuesday, July 16. New this year, Raina Douris will take listeners through the 10 Short List artists, with a live radio special on CBC Music’s Drive, on July 16, starting at 2:00 p.m. ET. An album and artist will be revealed every half hour, followed by an introduction to the nominated album and interviews with Polaris jurors. Listen to the special broadcast online and follow along at cbcmusic.ca/polaris. For more information on the Short List announcement, click here.

The Polaris Music Prize Short List was voted on by a panel of 199 Canadian jurors. On June 20, the 40 Long Listed albums were announced. The 2019 Polaris Music Prize winner will be revealed at the Polaris Gala on Monday, September 16 at the Carlu in Toronto, and will be live streamed globally at cbcmusic.ca/polaris.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. Additionally, the nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2019 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

Albums eligible for 2019 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between May 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019. An independent jury of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury convene on the night of the Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

Past winners of the Prize are: Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

We acknowledge the financial support of FACTOR, the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters.

We acknowledge Ontario Creates for their continued support of the Polaris Music Prize.

About the Polaris Music Prize
The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours and rewards artists who produce Canadian music albums of distinction. A select panel of music critics judge and award the Prize without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity. www.polarismusicprize.ca    

About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster. Through our mandate to inform, enlighten and entertain, we play a central role in strengthening Canadian culture. As Canada’s trusted news source, we offer a uniquely Canadian perspective on news, current affairs and world affairs. Our distinctively homegrown entertainment programming draws audiences from across the country. Deeply rooted in communities, CBC/Radio-Canada offers diverse content in English, French and eight Indigenous languages. We are leading the transformation to meet the needs of Canadians in a digital world.

About CBC Music
CBC Music connects Canadians with the very best in music. Available through the CBC Music app, online, on radio and in television specials throughout the year, CBC Music privileges Canadian artists and songs. Offering over 100 free music streams, CBC Music draws from all genres and classifications with knowledgeable hosts and programmers. Home to the JUNO Awards and your favourite music from across the country, discover the next great act with CBC Music. For more, visit www.cbcmusic.ca.

Media Contacts:

Polaris Music Prize media:
Amanda McCauley - Indoor Recess
(905) 926-6440

Polaris Music Prize media (Quebec):
Magali Ould
(514) 994-6295

CBC Music
Teaghan Hawke
(416) 205-6863

Media assets: (Polaris logos, album covers, bios, photos, streams):
Pw: m3d1a