Toronto, ON – May 29, 2020 – Today, Platinum-certified Canadian producer and avant-pop solo artist, Hello Moth, announces the July 24th release of their new full-lengh album, When The Sky Melted, along with a double single – Times Like This / Inside. Listen to the new tracks here.

Hello Moth creates unsettlingly inventive genre-fluid music inspired by artists like David Bowie, St. Vincent, and The Knife. Their songs span fragile love ballads and blacklight infused synth-pop as they explore themes of isolation, innocence, and identity. Inspired by the relationship between inside and out, When the Sky Melted observes a changing world from the oppressive comfort of home. A shingled roof provides shelter from the melting heavens, and lonesome rooms are filled with midnight radio broadcasts. We smile, climbing out from our homes to meet with a world turned upside down, tracing our paths back only to find that truly returning anywhere is impossible. Once again we are some-here new.

“The lyrical arc of the album is a fantasy after the idea of Inside vs Outside, loosely tied together with images of rooms, radios, and rooftops,” Hello Moth explains. “The songs were all written and recorded before the lockdowns of 2020, but it’s been cool to discover new ways to interpret my own lyrics in light of the pandemic.”

Sonically, the lo-fi blips and cinematic flourishes of Hello Moth’s previous releases now operate as one, blending into each other to form a digitally constructed orchestra of shadow and light. This playful shape-shifting production underpins vividly performed vocals to create a propulsive experience of sounds in motion.

Hello Moth continues, “Compared to the dark strangeness of my previous releases, this album is a little lighter, more hopeful, more fun. That’s not to say I haven’t still folded a few nightmares into the work, but I’ve enjoyed the chance to portray a more balanced picture of my creative moods on When the Sky Melted.”

While exploring new sonic and thematic avenues, Hello Moth also took a more collaborative approach to the creation of When The Sky Melted, welcoming prominent artists into the writing and performing process. Lead single, Inside, features Calgarian musicians, Spencer Cheyne (drums), Lisa Jacobs (bass guitar), and Darren Young (electric guitar), forming a live rock band – a new sound for Hello Moth. The acoustic instrumental for Canyons was produced, performed and recorded by Calgary’s, Benjamin Longman, while Lucid Dream was written with Toronto artist, Glass Apple Bonzai, whose original synth-wave version has been a crowd favourite live shows and DJ nights alike.

Hello Moth’s reputation was built on live shows. They provided direct support to St. Vincent at Sled Island 2014, and in 2016 Exclaim! called them “the weirdest, most underrated, most original and unashamedly true-to-self performer on the Rifflandia lineup, hands down.” Hello Moth’s debut album, Infinitely Repeated, was nominated Best Electronic Album at the 2014 Western Canadian Music Awards, while CBC hailed the 2016 release, Slave In A Stone, as “Frenetic, weird and all kinds of exciting…the kind of innovative music-making that keeps the future of Canadian music looking bright.”

Since then, Hello Moth has released a couple EPs – including the “unsettlingly inventive” (Prog Magazine UK) Nebula Songs – and has collaborated with numerous pop artists, after co-writing and producing Jocelyn Alice’s platinum-certified hit single, Jackpot. These experiences in the pop world influenced a new creative direction on When the Sky Melted, which retains all the weird and the strange of early Hello Moth and builds upon it to create something sweetly immediate with soulful depth.

1. Bury Me Beneath
2. Inside
3. Times Like This
4. Wanted To Tell You
5. Canyons (Acoustic)
6. All Day All Night
7. Midnight News
8. To Be Reached
9. Stereo
10. Stereo Out
11. Footprints
12. Lucid Dream (Mothapella Mix)

DOWNLOADTimes Like This / Inside single artwork 
DOWNLOAD – album cover art
DOWNLOAD – hi-res press photo