"Two years after his debut album Checkpoint Titanium, Harrison enlists a number of collaborators – BADBADNOTGOOD's Matty Tavares, Prince Innocence's Talvi, and more – adding exciting new dimensions to his funky, feel-good, neon-pumped productions." - The Fader

“More assured and confident than 2016's Juno-nominated Checkpoint Titanium, not to mention more polished, Apricity is a delight.”Exclaim!

“The track’s ethereal vocals atop Harrison‘s smooth but funky production make for a sugary sweet banger.” OkayPlayer

Toronto, ON – October 12, 2018 – Toronto’s multifaceted artist/producer/musical polymath, Harrison, returns to deliver his clearly articulated sophomore album, Apricity, out today via Last Gang Records. The 11-track album follows his 2016 JUNO-nominated debut, Checkpoint Titanium, which was received to critical acclaim. Apricity has already been praised by the likes of Exclaim!, calling it “a delight,” with The FADER highlighting the album’s “funky, feel-good, neon-pumped productions.” This week, Harrison was featured on CBC Radio One’s program, Here and Now, curating an exclusive playlist for their column, Song Of The Week. Stream and purchase Apricity here and see below for a complete tracklist.

Harrison has been previewing the record with an array of visuals, previously sharing his video for Your Girl, featuring fellow Toronto artist, Ralph. The video, directed by Ft. Langley, is a “hallucinatory odyssey about addition and consumerism,” and premiered at OkayPlayer. The song follows singles, Celica Supra, and Atmosphere (featuring Daniela Andrade).

Defined as “the warmth of the sun in winter,” Apricity is representative of Harrison’s emergence from a dark place where his ability to synthesize musical ideas was limited by occasional bouts with depression and deficiencies in his level of musicianship.

Apricity is the direct byproduct of Harrison’s dedication to the mastery of the piano and thus himself. The discipline required to produce the album reflects a concerted effort to translate ideas and challenge existing musical conventions more effectively, from the refracting light and fiery staccato of Midnight Snack, to the shimmering post-disco ballad & bop of Believe In Love and smoldering single, Better. It stands as evidence of Harrison’s commitment to challenging himself. Written, produced, performed and recorded entirely by Harrison, Apricity sticks with the do-it-yourself ethos that has informed his career to date.

Following lead singles, Celica Supra – a thematic reprise of Right Hook that doubles as an ode to his dream car – and the spacious Daniela Andrade-assisted Atmosphere, Harrison keeps close to home for the entirety of Apricity, with local collaborators IaamSaam and Matty Tavares (of BADBADNOTGOOD) guesting on Cali-inspired Midnight Snack, Talvi (of Prince Innocence) on Mustang, Ralph takes center stage on Your Girl, co-written by Prince DCF, and Aaron Tiem (of Base Camp) on Believe In LoveApricity closer, Pocket Dial, is a nod to previous releases that closes the record with a bang. Mixed by Dave Plowman, and mastered by Charles Carvalho, the album is a benchmark release for Harrison; a once-in-a-lifetime talent with the selfless nature and thirst for innovation necessary to galvanize a movement.

Harrison's debut, Checkpoint Titanium, was released on September 9, 2016 via Last Gang Records. The JUNO-nominated album was highlighted through features in The FADER, Exclaim!, Noisey, CBC Music and Apple Music’s Beats 1. It features an array of collaborators, including a l l i e (Vertigo), Ryan Hemsworth (Vanilla) and Young Guv (So Far From Home). His videos for album singles, It’s Okay I Promise (featuring Clairmont The Second), and Right Hook (directed by Eva Michon) received nods from the esteemed Prism Prize, a national juried award recognizing the artistry of the modern music video in Canada.  Harrison shared the music with international audiences, performing across Canada and throughout Asia, with festival sets at Osheaga, Halifax Pop Explosion, Rifflandia, Toronto’s Field Trip and TIME Festivals, Bastid’s BBQ, and Hamilton’s Supercrawl, amongst others. 

1. Celica Supra
2. Atmosphere (feat. Daniela Andrade)
3. Wavestation
4. Midnight Snack (feat. iaamSaam and Matty Tavares)
5. In the Dark (Interlude)
6. Next Blue
7. Your Girl (feat. Ralph)
8. Mustang (feat. Talvi)
9. Believe in Love (feat. Aaron Tiem)
10. Better (feat. Daniela Andrade)
11. Pocket Dial

Watch Your Girl (feat. Ralph): bit.ly/2NJyubY
Stream Your Girl (feat. Ralph): smarturl.it/yourgirl
Watch Atmosphere (feat. Daniela Andrade): youtu.be/2UF2SDiNJn8
Stream Atmosphere (feat. Daniela Andrade): smarturl.it/atmosphere-da
Stream Celica Supra: smarturl.it/celicasupra
Watch Celica Supra: bit.ly/2LRGguH

DOWNLOADHi Res Album Artwork | DOWNLOADHi Res Press Photo


About Last Gang:

Last Gang is a music company founded in 2003 and credited with launching the careers of Metric, Death From Above 1979, MSTRKRFT and Crystal Castles. The company is also well known for its work with Arkells, Ryan Hemsworth, Purity Ring, Lights, and Chromeo. Last Gang is an Entertainment One company. www.lastgang.com  

Entertainment One Music is home to Dualtone, Death Row, and Light Records releasing some of the most popular music in the world including The Lumineers, The Game and Lalah Hathaway.  www.entertainmentone.com