Toronto, ON – October 2, 2020 – Catapulting further into the global spotlight, Sydney-based duo, Cosmo’s Midnight (aka Cosmo and Patrick Liney), today release their long-awaited sophomore album, Yesteryear, out via Sony Music (Australia), RCA Records (USA) and Black Butter Records (UK). Drawing influence from the sounds they grew up with, the record presents a landmark moment for the multi-instrumentalist, songwriting and production act who have spent years honing their sonic identity to shape a fully-formed live artist project today.

Since their 2018 debut album, What Comes Next, Cosmo’s Midnight have blazed an artist evolution to fit inside a multitude of genres in an incredible way, forming the backbone of the Yesteryear DNA. Inspired by growth and steeped in reflection, the 12-track collection oozes timelessness as the pair feed their curiosity and give way to their most self-assured sound yet, guided by a burgeoning confidence. Mastering new mediums and maturing as songwriters in the process of bringing Pat to the lead vocal role, the duo unveil a nostalgia-driven blend of alt-pop, R&B, psychedelia, disco, funk, and their maiden electronic that has established a worldwide following today.

The LP commences with the swelling bassline of Unwind, climbing to a body moving disco anthem where Pat’s falsettos take centre stage amidst a cocktail of invigorating retro-rhythms. Next up, title track Yesteryear presents an alt-pop ode to 70s psychedelia, while injecting firm funk foundations that flow into the hip-swinging movements of It’s Love, blooming beside smooth R&B vocals from Matthew Young. The groove-dipped euphoria continues on Have It All with LA-based collective Age.Sex.Location before Ice steadily pulls the tempo back to recruit alt-R&B artist Stevan, who’s layered harmonies slow-dance with slinky bass and Pat’s atmospheric vocals before a psychedelic reprise takes the curtain. Spearheaded by breaths of alt-pop grandeur, A Million Times, embodies a clear path into the analogue realm before Down For You steps in, seeing alluring vocals from global phenomenon Ruel amplified by Cosmo’s Midnight’s signature synth work and sprinkles of pop.

Cosmo's Midnight say of feature track, A Million Times: "The ultimate labour of love, this track took a very long time to fall into place. Originally the song was this little 30 second demo that we just couldn't flesh out into a proper song. One day we had a session with Jarrah (Panama) and we obsessively workshopped this song into what it is today. This song was inspired by the likes of Elton John and Todd Rundgren and tells a story of the moment leading up to someone confessing their feelings for you, and the relief you felt when it was requited. Where everything is optimistic, wide-eyed, big, new and exciting - you could never possibly get over it."

Next, The Get Down veers into a steady danceability with the kick and bass to automate any dancefloor, before the punchy percussive beat of Time Wasted instantly uplifts with shimmying soundscapes and a melodic hook that smiles from start to finish. Idaho follows in the footsteps of 70s psych-rock, with slick storytelling and popping falsettos. Rounding out the collection is dance anthem C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It), with snappy synth melodies and the infectious fusion of electronic, pop & funk we know best from the duo, before the groove-struck We Could Last Forever concludes the record with a final release of sentimental bliss atop buttery baselines.

Cosmo’s Midnight say of the record: “Our second album is about reflecting on the past with not only nostalgia but also an element of melancholia ~ all the formative experiences that we absorb growing up both good and bad. It's an album inspired by personal growth, looking back on these experiences, learning from them and moving forward with optimism. Stylistically we have always looked back to genres our parents introduced to us growing up; disco, funk, psychedelia, alt-pop of the 70s and 80s. In 'Yesteryear' we have honed-in on that, moving away from overly produced sounds to more organic instrumentation, focused on feeling rather than thinking.”

Cosmo’s Midnight have upheld a career-spanning reputation as one of Australia’s most beloved left-of-centre acts, from their bedrooms many years ago to studios and live stages across the world, and now over 225 million online streams across their discography. Their widely-appraised, 2018 debut triple j Feature Album, What Comes Next, featured gold-certified favourites, History, Talk To Me and Get To Know, kickstarting a meteoric rise that hasn’t slowed down since. 2019 marked a fresh chapter, with an expanded live show and new sonic trajectory detailed by singles including, Have It All feat. Age.Sex.Location, It’s Love feat. Matthew Young, and the gold-certified, triple j Hottest 100-placing, C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It). In the live arena, their newly-defined focus ignited the stages of Splendour in the Grass, Listen Out and St Jerome’s Laneway Festival, as well as sold-out, headline shows in the US, Asia and major Australian venues on a national tour. During an equally sensational 2020, the multi-million streamed collaboration with global pop star Ruel in Down For You preceded the arrival of album title track Yesteryear, keeping the momentum rising as they landed on the cover of Spotify’s The Local List playlist, saw support from NME and Rolling Stone Australia.

From its genesis, Yesteryear presents an intersection of lessons from the past and a newly self-affirmed identity today lending not only a testament of where they’ve come from, but also where their unmistakable sound and prolific acumen will continue to take them.

1. Unwind
2. Yesteryear
3. It’s Love feat. Matthew Young
4. Have It All feat. Age.Sex.Location
5. Ice feat. Stevan
6. A Million Times
7. Down For You
8. The Get Down
9. Time Wasted
10. Idaho
11. C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It)
12. We Could Last Forever

DOWNLOAD – hi-res photo | DOWNLOAD – album cover artwork