Toronto, ON – June 25, 2021Chromeo’s first ever live album, Date Night: Chromeo Live!, is out today via Last Gang Records/eOne—get it here. The album features live versions of songs spanning the band’s entire career, recorded on their last pre-pandemic tour, a 2019 headline run of iconic North American venues like Colorado’s Red Rocks and the Hollywood Bowl in LA.

Proceeds from Date Night’s vinyl and merch sales will benefit the Touring Professionals Alliance (TPA), a 501c3, and their TPA Kitchen (TPAK) program. They provide touring crew, entertainment venue staff and music industry colleagues with chef-driven, high-quality meals from some of the nation’s top restaurants. 

“Last year’s been rough for everyone. It made us want to build fundraising campaigns into every one of our releases,” says Patrick “P-Thugg” Gemayel. “We can get down and have fun to lighthearted party music and also get down for a cause.”

In the height of the pandemic, out of sheer nostalgia, Chromeo began to sort through recordings from the tour. After picking favourite versions of each song, they realized that they had a live album on their hands. Date Night captures the band in full swing, at the height of their funky superpowers, delivering 90 minutes of pure, uncut funk—blissfully unaware of the sixteen-month shutdown ahead of them.

“We always toured as a duo, but on our last run, we put together a band of insane musicians,” adds David “Dave 1” Macklovitch. “We told them ‘let’s make our stuff sound like late ‘80s, early ‘90s New Power Generation.’ It gave a new life to our entire catalog. We had a blast—it was over the top, but then again so is pretty much everything we do.”

The past year has been a surprisingly full one for Chromeo, a band usually on the road for more than 150 shows a year. Last spring, they recorded and released a quarantine-themed EP off the cuff whilst holed up in their Burbank studio—donating over $80,000 in proceeds to Know Your Rights Camp’s COVID relief fund. When tragedy struck in P-Thugg’s native Lebanon—the massive explosion in Beirut that destroyed an entire district—they quickly scrambled to put out a merch capsule and donated over $10,000 to Impact Lebanon’s recovery efforts.

Chromeo also found the time to create a record label, Juliet Records, to put out music from like-minded friends and artists they admire. Releases in the label’s first year include records from future-R&B star and fashion icon Ian Isiah (which Chromeo produced), New York avant-jazz ensemble Onyx Collective and Montreal keyboard virtuoso Anomalie. They’ve also turned their attention to producing for a handful of outside artists for the first time, with releases planned through 2021.

Date Night: Chromeo Live! is a document of a band nearly 20 years into their storied career and a foreshadowing of what’s to come from Dave 1 and P-Thugg, inseparable friends and collaborators and forever guardians of the groove.

Date Night: Chromeo Live!  Tracklisting
1. Funklordz Intro [live in New York City]
2. Fancy Footwork [live in New York City]
3. Juice [live in Vancouver]
4. Hot Mess [live in Seattle]
5. Come Alive feat. Toro y Moi [live in Los Angeles]
6. Night By Night [live in Portland]
7. Bad Decision [live in Minneapolis]
8. (My Girl Is Calling Me A) Liar [live in Minneapolis]
9. Needy Girl [live in Los Angeles]
10. One Track Mind [live in Seattle]
11. Bonafied Lovin [live in San Francisco]
12. Don’t Sleep [live in DC]
13. Old 45s [live in Portland]
14. Slumming It [live in New York City]
15. Don’t Turn The Lights On [live in Vancouver]
16. Over Your Shoulder [live in San Francisco]
17. 100% [live in Minneapolis]
18. Must’ve Been [live in Vancouver]
19. Count Me Out [live in New York City]
20. Jealous (I Ain’t With It) [live in New York City]

Chromeo Tour Dates
July 3 - Los Angeles, CA  - Day Trip Festival (Live)
July 10- Columbus, OH - Otherworld (DJ Set)
July 11- Tampa, FL - WTR Tampa (DJ Set)
July 23 - New York, NY - Pier 15 (DJ Set)
July 24 - Seattle, WA - Neumo's (DJ Set)
August 12 - Nashville, TN - Nashville Underground (DJ Set)
August 13 - Washington, DC - A.I (DJ Set)
September 2 - San Francisco, CA - August Hall (Live)
September 3 - Napa, CA - Bottlerock Festival (Live)
September 4 - Berkeley, CA - UC Theatre (Live)
October 28 - Fresno, CA - Fulton 55 (DJ Set)
December 4 - Cancun, MX - Holidaze (DJ Set)
December 5 - Tulum, MX - Holy Ship (DJ Set)
May 21 - Pasadena, CA - Just Like Heaven Festival (LIVE)

DOWNLOAD – Hi Res Press Photo | DOWNLOAD – Hi Res Album Artwork


About Chromeo

Chromeo’s David “Dave 1” Macklovich and Patrick “P-Thugg” Gemayel have turned an inseparable childhood friendship into a musical career that grows stronger than ever in its second decade, launching them from Montreal basements to the main stage at Coachella. Although Chromeo are known for their stylized stage show and lovingly crafted analog synth-scapes, their fantastic voyage has never been an exercise in irony or nostalgia. Rather, it’s a mission with a purpose: keeping the funk alive Head Over Heels is Chromeo’s 5th studio album. Featuring twelve tracks of funk and R&B history colliding with modern pop song craft, it’s a heartfelt love letter to the music that has influenced the duo since their teenage years. 

About Last Gang
Last Gang is a music company founded in 2003 and credited with launching the careers of Metric, Death From Above 1979, MSTRKRFT and Crystal Castles. The company is also well known for its work with Arkells, Ryan Hemsworth, Purity Ring, Lights, and Chromeo. Last Gang is an Entertainment One company.  
About Touring Professionals Alliance
Touring Professionals Alliance (TPA) is a national 501c3 nonprofit that provides support to those working behind the scenes of live music touring. It was formed in 2020 as a direct result of the COVID-19 pandemic that left tens of thousands of touring professionals out of work when live music events were shuttered globally. TPA provides aid, including mental health and informational resources, to music industry professionals. For more information on the Touring Professionals Alliance Kitchen, please visit: