Toronto, ON – July 9, 2021  – Today, Nebraska-based singer-songwriter, Andrea von Kampen, has released a cover of The Beach Boys’ classic, Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder). Known for both her original songs and her strong cover interpretations, featured both on her records and via her YouTube and TikTok  - here von Kampen’s plaintive voice is on full display set to dazzling string arrangements. The recording appears on her forthcoming album, That Spelldue August 6, 2021 via Fantasy Records. Fans can pre-order That Spell, today here.
Andrea von Kampen on Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder“I’ve always wanted to cover The Beach Boys in a way that pays homage to the brilliance of Brian Wilson’s songwriting and arranging while bringing a fresh perspective. There are so many great covers out there already so I wanted to find something that was a little less familiar. Don’t Talk seemed like a great choice for these requirements and my brother and I were excited to reinvent this classic Pet Sounds track. We kept the vocal simple to let David’s lush string arrangement and piano part come through while still focusing on the great lyrics and melody.”
The cover follows the news of her signing to Fantasy Records last month, and the subsequent release of three new songs that appear on the forthcoming album, Water Flowing Downward, Take Back Thy Gift, and Of Him I Love Both Day and Night. “She brings fresh energy to traditional folk elements with loads of quiet power,” said RIFF Magazine.
Fresh off a tour with the Punch Brothers, Andrea von Kampen has announced new tour dates in New York City on August 31 at Rockwood Music Hall and in Washington, D.C. on September 1 at DC9. In addition, she will be making an appearance this summer at the legendary Newport Folk Festival. A home state record release show in Omaha, NE on August 14 will take place at The Slowdown. More dates will be announced soon.

Andrea von Kampen burst onto the national stage via NPR’s Tiny Desk contest - an opportunity for unsigned talent to win a spot on the famed music discovery series. Though she didn’t ultimately land the prize, she was named as one of the top ten entries, and in the process netted a whole new fanbase. Since then, she’s released EPs, singles, a self-released debut LP and found great success with film and television placements due to her intimate and cinematic music.
The Nebraska-raised singer-songwriter is a formidable talent with her deeply felt folk-indebted sound and inquisitive, empathetic lyrics. Andrea excels at connecting the dots between personal experience and the world at large. Her journey so far has been a life immersed by music. The youngest of four children raised in a musical family, Andrea and her siblings all learned instruments as she started playing guitar at a young age. “Music was just what we did,” she remembers, and on That Spell, she continues the familial collaboration by bringing in her brother David to work on string arrangements and the album’s stunning production. Inspired by nature and often employing deep literary references in her work, von Kampen’s music is emotional and reflective. Entering That Spell is a walk in the woods during magic hour - a dream conjured by a supremely gifted singer-songwriter, one of the year’s most exciting new arrivals. 
Tour Dates
July 26 - Newport Folk Festival - Newport, RI
August 14 - The Slowdown - Omaha, NE
August 31 - Rockwood Music Hall - New York, NY
September 1 - DC9 - Washington, D.C.
 That Spell Track Listing:
1. Of Him I Love Both Day and Night
2. Take Back Thy Gift
3. That Spell
4. Celilo
5. The Wait
6. Water Flowing Downward
7. Carolina
8. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder)
9. Wedding Song
10. Magdalene
DOWNLOAD – Press Photo l DOWNLOAD - Album Art